Loop and Tea

It appears that I’m not the only one who has ‘moved’ lately.  Jo has moved her blog, ‘Today we are…’ to her new blog home ‘Today we made….‘.  Loop has also moved from Cross Street to the hip location of Camden Passage near the antiques market.  It was Loop’s first day of opening at their new location on Saturday and there was a party for all their customers.  I went with my daughter and the shop was already full when we got there.  We managed to squeeze through the crowds on the ground floor to the second floor where there were more gorgeous yarns and books as well as homemade cakes and pimms.

To keep my daughter occupied while I browsed through the books and drooled over the yarn, I gave her my camera to take some photos.  Here is a selection of photos she took on the day, not bad for a six-year-old. 

We met several knitting bloggers and designers there too.  I only manage to have a quick chat with Claire Montgomery who was looking at the latest Amy Butler yarns.  We also met Alice aka Socktopus who was queuing behind us to pay at the till, she was holding a strange-looking blocking device, which I still don’t understand how it works, and one of Julie Arkells’s sculpture.   The queue was quite long, a few people brought their knitting so they manage to knit as they waited, but I listen to the KnitNation gossip  news going on behind me. 

We had a great time and left the shop with a knitting doll for my daughter and a skein of Malabrigo Lace in Dusty (I couldn’t resist).  We then spent the rest of the day at the Tate Modern where my daughter made a collage based on one of the art work there. 

We spent Sunday at Kyoko’s place after some delicious dim sum followed by afternoon tea (we were so full afterwards).  My daughter spent most of the day playing with Kumo and Wata while Kyoko showed me how to use her overlocker/serger.  I also browsed through some of her Japanese sewing books.  Some of them had excellent photographic step by step instructions which I found really useful as I can not read Japanese.  I’m planning on making some clothes which I will write about in my next blog post.

Have a great week everyone and Good Luck to the England football team for their match tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loop and Tea

  1. two hippos says:

    sounds like a fantastic weekend. I didn’t know Loop were moving, I shall have to wonder up to Camden Passage – Loops is such an inspiring place.

  2. ling says:

    Sounds like you had a brilliant time. I must visit the new Loop shop. BTW, I’ll be at Knit Nation (probably all 3 days including the preview on Thursday evening), so hopefully I’ll get to meet up with you.

    • Hi Ling,

      Yes you should pop over to Loop when you have the time. I bumped into a few of your friends there last Saturday.

      I will see you at KnitNation. It sounds like a great event.

      Mary

  3. Kyoko says:

    Hello! Hehe, it was a lovely afternoon wasn’t it? Oh, I really want to go to Loop. So many things to do in so little time!
    BTW I still have your Rascal’s cap. We will have to meet up soon.

    x
    Kyoko

Leave a Reply

