Knitting and Stitching Show 2010

Every year towards the end of September my diary often get booked with a few craft events.  Last Saturday, Kyoko and I went to our annual trip to Alexandra Palace to attend the Knitting and Stitching Show.  It’s funny how we can get so excited about knitting and all things textiles.  Especially to people who are not into sewing, knitting and crafts.  A few of my non-crafty friends gave me strange looks when I told them how excited I was to go the Knitting show this weekend, but it is one of my favourite craft events of the year.

I was probably a bit too enthusiastic about going this year that I caught the early train from Kings Cross Station and arrived at Alexandra Palace at approximately 9am (the show doesn’t start till 10).  So I had a cup of tea and a pastry while I waited for Kyoko to arrive. 

The first stall we visited was the Jamiesons’ stand to see Kyoko’s knitting patterns and samples. Jamiesons always have a great range of colours to choose from:

Cotton and Cloud patterns and samples:

It was great to see Kyoko’s patterns displayed at the show and I’ve promised my daughter that I’ll knit her a hooded cabled cardigan.  The pattern goes up to 10 years old which is ideal as I like to knit a few sizes bigger (she grows so quickly).

I also love the Rowan stand where they had a knitted living room theme  using British yarn.  The lace knitted telephone cover is so unusual and I love the different texture of the knitted cushions.

My favourite adult knitted garment is Susan Crawford’s Winter Jumper:In terms of the fun factor it has to be the knitted meerkats and the knitted mini-mes at the Stitch London stand:

All in all it was a great day out.  We were planning on leaving at 4pm but we ended up leaving just after 5pm.  I left the show with so much inspiration I’m looking forward to making things out of my purchases that day:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting and Stitching Show 2010

  1. Kyoko says:

    Hi Mary!
    It was sooooo fun wasn’t it? My legs were in pain on Sunday (LOL!). Oh we must make sure knit together very soon. I can’t wait to moving back to SE London. Fingers crossed it’s not long to go…
    x
    Kyoko

    • Hi Kyoko!

      Yes, we had a great time. 🙂 I was very tired the next day, but luckily I had Monday off work to recover. Yes, we must catch up with our knitting when you move back to South London.

      Mary

  2. Ling says:

    Hi Mary
    Gald you had a good time at Ally Pally. I only had a short time so managed to whizz by lots of the stalls. I was being very restrained this year as I still have stuff from 2 -3 years ago that I haven’t even started! I like the show because it gives me lots of inspiration!

    • Hi Ling,

      You are very good. I wasn’t suppose to buy any yarn this year but I couldn’t resist the red yarn. The V&A fabrics are lovely and I had to buy a metre.

      I went home with lots of inspiration too.

      Mary

Leave a Reply

