Ups and Downs

Oh gosh.  I have been an absent blogger recently.  December has been a strange month.  There have been lots of ups and downs this month.  My husband’s uncle passed away and he has been feeling down as they were very close.  My daughter has been feeling poorly recently.  After getting the chicken pox she caught the cold followed by the stomach bug.  Poor girl, it has been one thing after the other for her, I hope this means she will be sickness free this Christmas (fingers crossed).  Then work has been busy and the transport in London has been horrendous.  I’m literally shattered at the end of the day.

But recently we have all decided to learn new things.  My daughter has started piano and singing lessons, my husband has started a new course on IT and I did some classes at the Make Lounge.  I have been thinking about doing a few classes at the Make Lounge for a while now.  Since it is so close to my office I really had to try it out.  I went on the Book Binding course taught by Suzanne .  I had a great time and it was lovely to meet like-minded people who love crafting.  We had a good chat with Suzanne who gave us some tips on customising the books and where to get supplies.  I enjoyed it so much that I went to the Rubber Stamp Carving class taught by Louise the following week.  The rubber stamp carving class was really fun too and Suzanne gave us lots of encouragement to try this new craft at home. 

There is also a lovely shop at the Make Lounge where you could buy some tools, fabrics, kits, books etc before and after the classes.  Here are a few things I made and bought:

Here are some of my stamps:

I’m actually really proud of my first hand bound book:

I looking forward to starting some new projects, improve my knitting and add more items to my shop.  Talking about my shop, I was very happy to hear that my little red bow was selected by Ellemoss for her treasury.   I hope that 2011 brings more ‘Ups’ and less ‘Downs’ for everyone.  Enjoy your Christmas break!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ups and Downs

  1. two hippos says:

    The Make Lounge classes sounded great, the stamps are great fun! Do hope you all have a lovely peaceful Christmas! Ruthx

  2. Ling says:

    Hi Mary
    Hope your little one is fully recovered now. I know how you feel – we’ve had illnesses too in our house.

    I love the Make Lounge too. I’ve taken a few classes there and I think they’re well taught and i’ve always had a lot of fun. Your book looks great and the stamps too!

    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year

    • Hi Ling,

      Lovely to hear from you. It must have been tough with three Children. My little girl seem to be ok (touch wood) now.

      What classes did you take at the Make Lounge. I had a good time and learnt lots.

      Have a great Christmas Holiday and New Year.

      Mary

  3. That sounds like a great place – your book looks amazing!

    I hope that your lass recovered in time for Christmas, poor thing.

Leave a Reply

