My Toy Story

A few months ago I went to see Toy Story 3 with my daughter and we loved it.  The ending was a bit sad and made me think about the toys I had in my childhood.  We were not very well off so we didn’t have many toys (compared to kids these days).  My brother was very much into Lego and Nintendo which he has kept to today.  I was more into dolls and cuddly toys, but I did play with his toys as well.  Unlike Andy in the film I have kept two of my favourite toys:

My Monchichi Monkey, Toby, which was given to me when I was five years old from my late uncle.  She had a polka dot dress and bow which was damaged so I knitted her this red dress (based on Ysolda’s Poppy dress) . Her fur has also gone a bit flat because I gave her bath when I was eight years old.  Don’t you think that she is so cute?

I’ve also kept my Sindy which my Mum bought me from Toys R Us when I was seven or eight.  She has got her original dress on which really needs a wash.  I remember telling all my Mum’s friends that I was going to get married when I’m eighteen years old.

I probably have a few more toys at my Mum’s place but most of them have been given to relatives or friends.

This is my new purchase:

A Punkaholic Blythe doll.  She arrived from Hong Kong a few weeks ago with her little Hello Kitty suitcase and we greeted her with some cakes and ice cream.  I’ve wanted one for a very long time.  I have plans to knit and sew some clothes for her and Sindy.  So excited.

Do you have any toys that you have kept from your childhood?  Or have you recently bought a Blythe doll?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Toy Story

  1. two hippos says:

    I still have a couple of toys, my teddy bear and 2 dolls – all burried in my daughters toy chest. I too have bought a Blythe, she is a Nicky lad – Miss T and I loved her accessories – specs, raincoat, wellies!
    r

    ps in answer to your question I knitted with Rowan Big wool from a booklet. I think it was the first big wool book as it says to use 15mm needles and I was advised by Liberty to use 12mm.

  2. MochiPan says:

    Ooh I love all three! Such a cute Monchichi (never had one of these, but I feel like my Mum might have had one at one point…), I know I had some Sindys but I think they got chucked out 😦 Love your Blythe! Can’t wait to see what clothes you make for her!

    • Hi Emily,

      I guess I’m showing my age as Toby and Sindy are early 1980s toys. 🙂 There are so many things I want to make for Blythe and Sindy, but not much time 😦 I will try and find sone
      time….

      Mary

  3. Lisa says:

    I still have my Sindy doll too! Love your Blythe doll – what fun you will have making some clothing for her.

    • Hi Lisa,

      I use to have a Sindy house and furniture which have been given to relatives in Sweden 😦 but I’m so glad that I kept Sindy. 🙂

      Love to see a photo of your doll, any chance of a blog post?

      Mary

  4. Kyoko says:

    Love your blythe doll! My all time favourite doll when i was a child was a cabbage patch doll. I still have it in Japan.
    My blythe Aubrena is currently in storage but I should really knit more clothes for her. I have some blythe clothes making books from Japan so I can lend them to you 😉
    x
    Kyoko

    • Hi Kyoko!

      I really wanted a cabbage patch kid when I was younger but I had to choose between Sindy or CPK and Sindy won.

      Once you have settled into your new place we should have a knitting session just to make clothes for Blythe and Sindy. 🙂

      Mary

Leave a comment